About MBTC

Since 1992

The club was founded in 1992 by a small group of local enthusiasts who made an agreement with the Mill Bay Community League to use the courts behind Kerry Park Arena in exchange for maintenance and management. This agreement, in a modified form, continues to this day. Over the past 25 years the Club has steadily grown from about 20 members to over 80 today. Many of those original members still take an active part in the Club. 

Originally tennis was offered in the summer season only; now we have a year round program by using the indoor tennis facility at Arbutus Ridge. The founders of the club emphasized a friendly atmosphere for social and competitive play open to all members of the Mill Bay community and our neighbours. That philosophy remains today.

As part of the 1958 Centennial Year, the community built the first tennis court for Mill Bay on land owned by the Mill Bay Community League (the MBCL) not far from the present location of our courts. It is still located under the Kerry Park Arena lower parking lot. You can actually detect it in spots. Some government grants were provided but it was built with local volunteers and the community was proud that they incurred no debt.

The current courts were built in the 1970’s as part of the contract that the Mill Bay Community League negotiated with the CVRD for supplying the land for the Arena. Past CVRD Area Director, Brian Harrison, was at that time the President of the MBCL and spearheaded the negotiations. Once again, the community acquired a tennis facility at no cost.

 Several groups were formed over the years to play tennis but the most enduring and successful has been the current club. With the close association between the tennis community and the MBCL going back to 1958, it made sense to continue such a relationship.

MBTC Executive Team

The Mill Bay Community League Tennis Society held their 2021 AGM as a “virtual” meeting in March.  The following people have accepted postings to the executive:


Mike Mills – Elected March 2020 (to 2023)


Sheila Bradshaw – Elected March 2020 (to 2023)

Membership Director

Barbara Eisenberg – Elected March 2019 (to 2022)

Social and Tournaments

Lorna Robertson – Elected March 2019 (to 2022)

Webmaster and Communications


Jaap Zwaan- Elected March 2021 (to 2024)

Maintenance Director

Richard Furbacher – Elected March 2020 (to 2023)

Mill Bay Tennis

Mill Bay, British Columbia

Courts are on Wilkinson Road behind the Kerry Park Recreation Arena.